Dingle Lit authors shortlisted for An Post Irish Book Awards

5:51pm | Tue 24 Oct 2023

Have you cast your vote for the An Post Irish Book Awards yet? We’re pleased to be welcoming many of the shortlisted nominees to this year’s Dingle Lit festival.

Claire Kilroy and Anne Enright are both nominated in the Novel of the Year category for Soldier Sailor and The Wren, The Wren, respectively. Claire Keegan, who previously appeared at the festival, is also nominated for both Novel of the Year and Author of the Year.

John Banville’s The Lock-Up is up for Crime Fiction Book of the Year.

Three of this year’s Dingle Lit authors are duking it out in the Newcomer of the Year category – Michael Magee (Close to Home), Noel O’Regan (Though the Bodies Fall) and Colin Walsh (Kala).

Two books focusing on lived experiences in Northern Ireland and The Troubles are up for Non-Fiction Book of the Year – Máiría Cahill’s Rough Beast along with Martin Doyle’s Dirty Linen – and Poor by Katriona O’Sullivan is nominated for Biography of the Year, as well as The Last Word Listeners’ Choice Award – in which Karl Geary is also shortlisted for his novel Juno Loves Legs. Also in non-fiction news, Mark Moriarty’s Flavour is shortlisted for Cookbook of the Year.

Sophie White’s My Hot Friend is up for Popular Fiction Book of the Year, and Chandrika Narayan-Mohan is one of the poets featured in the I Am the Wind anthology, which is nominated for Children’s Book of the Year (Senior). Meanwhile Mary O’Donnell’s Vectors in Kabul is up for Poem of the Year, and Celia de Fréine’s The Story of Elizabeth is one of the nominees for Short Story of the Year – you can read them all here.

Of course, we don’t want to be biased, and there are lots of other great authors and works shortlisted too, but we must wish all our Dingle Lit 2023 cohort the very best of luck! Cast your vote here.

All voters will be entered into a prize draw to win one of five €100 National Book Tokens vouchers. Voting closes at 5pm on Thursday 9th November.

The winners of the An Post Irish Book Awards will be announced at a ceremony in The Convention Centre Dublin on Wednesday 22nd November, which will be broadcast on RTÉ One and RTÉ Player on Wednesday 6th December.